My first (real) mod

Okay, technically, this isn’t the first mod I’ve completed, as I previously soft-modded my PS2, plus I installed a modchip into my Sega Saturn. However, this is the first modification I have completed that required altering the system’s case and soldering several wires. Anyway, after reading online about the possibility of installing composite A/V outputs on a Sega Master System, I decided to give it a try, considering that the RF switch for my Master System hasn’t been working well (plus, the picture coming from it often is plagued by wavy lines).

If you look closely, you will notice that, unfortunately, I did not get the jacks aligned perfectly. Of course, no one is likely to ever look at the jacks I installed on my Master System and point out the imperfection, but it does bother me. I plan on modifying my Sega Genesis with composite outputs (and possibly, an S-Video output) in the near future, and I am going to try to do a better job with the outputs on it. I think if I create a template on the computer, print it, and then put that on the Genesis prior to any drilling, I have a better chance of everything coming out better than it did with the Master System.

Anyway, I am happy that I managed to complete this mod without destroying my Master System (which I considered a definite possibility). At one point, I thought I may have accidentally let some wires touch while the system was on, and I feared that I shorted something out and ruined my system, but I later realized that I had accidentally shut off the VCR I had the system plugged into, and that’s why I wasn’t getting a picture (yep, I’m not smart sometimes). As you can see by the pic, the system is displaying games via the composite outputs. The only issue I’ve noticed so far is that the colors are not as bright as they are coming through the RF unit. I’m not sure why, and I don’t know if there is a way to fix this (other than changing my brightness and contrast settings on my TV). If the choice is a clearer picture or a more colorful one, though, I’m going with the clearer picture.

By the way, as I type this, I am in the middle of modding my PS1 and my original Xbox. I’ll report back on how that goes.

2 Responses

  1. well done sir, well done!!

  2. Thank you, my good man. It’s good to be free of the RF unit.

Leave a Reply

