It’s a mod, mod, mod, mod world

Though it’s terribly late at this point, I still plan on finishing the Pac-Attack. I believe I still have three games to review (though I may bump that up now, since I am not constrained by counting down to the anniversary anymore), and I have to put together the special, OMG-this-is-so-frickin’-awesome PDF with all of the reviews and other bonus stuff šŸ™‚

Part of the reason I don’t have this done is that I’ve been going a little mod crazy. I got all of my old consoles out of storage, and I decided that I hate the RF switches. They provide a poor picture, and using the old Atari-style TV switches create an unsightly mess. Therefore, I am going to mod all of my old consoles to output either composite, S-video, or VGA.

Some of this stuff is way more complicated than anything I’ve done previously, but I’ve had some success with simpler circuits, and there are some very detailed and easy-to-follow tutorials online for doing some of these mods, so I’m going to give it a shot.

When I get time, I’ll post some of my results. I’m still waiting for components I need for many of the mods (just placed a huge order with MCM Electronics), so in the interim, I’ll only be able to complete mods with what I have onhand (i.e., there probably won’t be many mod updates for a while).

4 Responses

  1. WAiting for pac attack to be finished. may I have some cake while I wait?!

  2. I would offer you some cake, but I would be afraid that you would get fat waiting for me to resume this.

    I’ll take the hint, though, and try to get back to this sometime in the near future.

  3. Hey YAGS!!!..blog dead? left behind to die..sadness. just updating my gamers hall, asking the owners on my blog roll if they still doing their blogs if they haven’t posted in over more than a month..yours fall in that category…still plan on coming back here…or not so much. I did enjoy your pacman game plays…but we all have stuff that happens in life.

  4. You’re probably safe deleting the link. I run hot and cold with this blog. I’ll get the urge to post for a while, and then I disappear. It’s been almost nine months since my last post, and I’m not sure when I’ll get the urge to post again (too many other things going on).

Leave a Reply

